Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OPRFHS Library Home Page

Oak Park and River Forest High School Library

General

Articles covering a broad range of topics from a broad range of media types

Reference articles from ebooks that can be searched at the article level or by browsing within an ebook

 

Films and documentaries

Swank tutorial for teachers

English

Literary criticism, author overviews, and work overviews from the 20th century

History & Social Studies

Primary/secondary sources, biographies, journals, images & more covering a broad range of topics in African American history and culture

Articles from books, primary sources, journals, news, etc. covering topics in world history

Primary/secondary sources, biographies, journals, images & more covering a broad range of topics in American Indian history and culture

Articles from books, primary sources, journals, news, etc. covering topics in U.S. history

Primary/secondary sources, biographies, journals, images & more covering a broad range of topics in Latinx American history and culture

Issues, Controversies, & Debates

Current news on social,political, and environmental global events

Current news on controversial social subjects with a U.S. focus

 

Newspapers, magazines, graphs, charts, maps, primary sources, and more covering major scientific, economic, historical, and political issues around the world

Science

Articles from books, magazine, journals, etc. about most every subject in science

in-depth explanations of important advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics, and technology (includes simplified published scholarly articles)

Academic/Scholarly

Full-text articles & abstracts from academic journals, magazines, newspapers & books

Current peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences articles from over 500 journals

Peer-reviewed journal articles covering psychology

Peer-reviewed articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences

Current Periodicals

1851 - present; TimesMachine 1851-2002

Account Creation (Use OPRF email.)

Video Tutorial on Account Set-up

full digital access to the Chicago Tribune

 

 

magazine with daily coverage of politics, education, science/tech, & culture

 

 

 

Current U.S. Major Dailies
Today's paper available by 8AM every day

Historical Periodicals

Highly influential Black newspaper during the early to mid twentieth century
Access to articles from 1905-1975

 

primary source materials covering a vast range of topics during the civil war

Chicago Tribune 1849-1994
Wall Street Journal 1889-2000
Washington Post 1877-2001

CQ Researcher & Oxford Resources

Reports published 44 times per year on contemporary political and social issues in the U.S.

Definitive record of the English language since 1150 providing detailed etymological  analysis of over 600,00 words and traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations

In-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics

Gale Databases Power Search

                    search all Gale databases using PowerSearch; also use Topic Finder to narrow your search or develop a topic for your research papers

 

Open Access Journals (no passwords needed)

Google Scholar Search

PubMed Central: full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. Over 4 million articles are archived here.


 

Listing of open access journals (Wikipedia)