Use basic principles to
| Book by one author | Woodson,Jaqueline. Brown Girl Dreaming. Penguin, 2014. |
| Books by more than one author |
Dorris, Michael, and Louise Erdrich. The Crown of Columbus. HarperCollins Publishers, 1999. |
| Book with an editor (e.g., a collection) |
Nunberg, Geoffrey, editor. The Future of the Book. U. of California P, 1996. |
| Book with no author listed (start with the title) |
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 8th ed. Modern Language Association of America, 2016. |
| An Essay, Poem, or Short Story in an Anthology |
Crews, Harry. “Why I Live Where I Live.” The Short Prose Reader, 12th ed., edited by Gilbert H. Muller and Harvey S. Wiener. McGraw-Hill, 2009. pp. 307-10. |
| Article from an encyclopedia (if no author is listed, start with the title) |
Cooper, John M. “Socrates.” Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy, edited by Edward Craig, vol. 9. Routledge, 1998. |
| E-book (from a library database or catalog) |
Haddon, Mark. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Vintage Contemporaries, 2003.Sora. |
| E-book (from the Web) |
Stowe, Harriet Beecher. Uncle Tom’s Cabin. Cassell, 1852. Project Gutenberg, 2015, www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/203. |
| Journal article from a database (if no author is listed, start with the title) |
Rice, D. Talbot. “Byzantine Pottery.” Journal of Hellenic Studies, vol. 59, no. 1, 1939, pp. 138-39. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/pdf/626921.pdf?_=1466618473829. |
| Newspaper article from a database (if no author is listed, start with the title) |
"Lizzie Borden Is Acquitted.” The New York Times (1857-1922), 21 June 1893, p. 1, ProQuest, search.proquest.com. |
| Article from a database (if no author is listed, start with the title) |
Trumbull, Mark, and Cristina Maza. "'Fight for $15' Protests: Why They're about More than Fast-food Wages." Christian Science Monitor, 15 Apr. 2015, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, ic.galegroup.com. |
| Article (with a digital object identifier number) from a database |
Ohman, Arne, and Susan Mineka. "Fears, Phobias, and Preparedness: Toward an Evolved Module of Fear and Fear Learning." Psychological Review, vol. 108, no. 3, 2001, Academic OneFile, doi: 10.1037//0033-295X.108.3483. |
| Article from a journal (if no author is listed, start with the title) |
Giaquinto, Richard A. “Instructional Issues and Retention of First-Year Students.” Journal of College Student Retention, vol. 11, no. 2, 2009-2010, pp. 267-85. |
| Article from a magazine (if no author is listed, start with the title) |
Posnanski, Joe. “The Running Back, the Cheerleader, and What Came after the Greatest College Football Game Ever.” Sports Illustrated, 28 Dec. 2009, pp. 58-64. |
| Article from a newspaper (if no author is listed, start with the title) |
Nearing, Brian. “State Energy Plan: Less Is More.” Times Union [Albany, NY] 16 Dec. 2009, pp. D1-D2. |
| Citing an article from a web site (if no author is listed, start with the title) |
Smith, Kelsey Anne.“Increase in Plagiarism among College Students Thought to Be Caused by Technology.” The Guardian: Wright State University Newspaper, 10 Jan. 2013, www.theguardianonline.com/news/2013/01/10/increase-in-plagiarism-among-college-students-thought-to-be-caused-by-technology/. |
| Citing a web page (if no author is listed, start with the title) |
"Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention.” Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 22 June 2016, www.cdc.gov/violenceprevention/childmaltreatment/index.html. |
| DVD/ Motion Picture |
To Kill a Mockingbird. Directed by Robert Mulligan, performances by Gregory Peck, John Megna, and Frank Overton, Universal International Pictures, 1962. |
| Video streaming from subscription database |
12 Angry Men. Directed by Sidney Lumet, performances by Henry Fonda, Lee J. Cobb and Ed Begley, Orion-Nova Productions, 1957. Swank Digital Campus, www.digitalcampus.swankmp.net. |
| Episode from a series streaming |
"The Potato.” Modern Marvels, produced by Don Cambou, 2010, Films on Demand, fod.infobase.com/. |
| YouTube Video |
Ted-Ed. “Why is This Painting So Captivating? - James Earle and Christina Bozsik.” YouTube, 10 Mar. 2016, www.youtu.be/loMy3sbW64g. |
| Music CD |
Nirvana. “Smells Like Teen Spirit." Nevermind, Geffen, 1991. |
| Painting, sculpture or photograph retrieved online |
Cezanne, Paul. Still Life with Apples and a Pot of Primroses. 1890, Metropolitan Museum of Art, www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/51.112.1. |
| Podcast (audio) |
Clark, Josh. “How Chili Peppers Work.” Stuff You Should Know, 10 Sept. 2015, www.stuffyoushouldknow.com/podcasts/how-chili-peppers-work.htm. |
| Tweet |
@tombrokaw. "SC demonstrated why all the debates are the engines of this campaign." Twitter, 22 Jan. 2012, 3:06 a.m., twitter.com/tombrokaw/status/160996868971704320. |