World History - National Liberation Primary Sources

AFRICA (Collections cover both Algeria and Ghana)

Primary Source Collections:

• Decolonization Resource Center - Africa
  • This site has primary source collections listed along with stand-alone documents.
• African History Sourcebook - Fordham University (Algeria & Ghana docs included)
  • Starts at "European Imperialism," then scroll to find "Fight for Independence."
  • Note - some links are dead
• Black Past - African History 
• Emancipation of sub-saharan Africa - University of Luxembourg
  • The first few pages are on French/Belgian decolonization, then British decolonization follows.

Algeria

Primary Source Collections:

• Mt Holyoke Collection of Documents
• Voices of Decolonization  - Includes the following - Mohammed Dib: The Fire, National Liberation Front: Proclamation, Francois Mitterand: Speech in Response to FLN Actions, Slimane Azem: Locust, Leave My Country, Muslim Population of Tebessa: Letter to Robert Lacoste, Renee Massigli: French Intelligence Analysis of British Public Opinion on the Algerian Conflict, Charles de Gaulle: Presidential Press Conference, Frantz Fanon: The Wretched of the Earth, Visitor: Lift Up the Torch of United Africa, U.N. General Assembly: Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples

Individual Primary Source Documents:

• Charles de Gaulle: Speech at Constantine, Algeria; 1958
• Proclamation of the Algerian National Liberation Front; 1954
• America Salutes Algerian Independence; 1963 [Video]
• Constitution of Algeria; 1963
• Editorial of the First Issue of El Moudjahid (Newspaper founded during the Algerian Revolution to Inform FLN Resistance Fighters); Algeria 1956

Secondary Sources:

• Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa: Algerian War of Independence
• Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism: Algeria

Ghana

Primary Source Collections:

• U.K. National Archives: British Empire - The End of the British Empire: Ghana
• Colonial and Coloured Unity: A Programme of Action - History of the Pan-African Congress, 1947
• Nkrumah Documents from March 1961 Visit to Washington D.C.
• Documents Regarding the State Department Briefing on Nkrumah in March, 1961

Individual Primary Source Documents:

• Gold Coast New Constitution 1951
• British Report on a Speech by Kwame Nkrumah Given in Liberia; 1953
• First Afro-Asian Conference, Final Communique, 1955
• Extract from a 1956 U.K. Secret Government Report on Independence for the Gold Coast
• British Parliament Debate on the Gold Coast, July 1957 
• Ghana's Policy at Home and Abroad: Text of Speech Given to Ghana Parliament, August 29 1957
• MLK Jr.'s "Birth of a New Nation" Sermon Delivered at Dexter Avenue Baptist Church 1957
• Nnamdi Azikiwe Honors Kwame Nkrumah on His Visit to Eastern Nigeria; 1959
• Kwame Nkrumah: I Speak of Freedom [Speech]; 1961
• Nkrumah meeting with JFK at the White House [photograph], 1961
• Ceremony Honoring Nkrumah Visit to Washington D.C., 1961
• Remarks Upon Presenting President of Ghana to Press Corp, 1961
• Conversations Between Chinese Premier Zhou Enlai and President Kwame Nkrumah; 1964
• New York Times: Portrait of Nkrumah as Dictator, 1964

Secondary Sources:

• Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism: Nkrumah, Kwame
• Historic World Events: Ghana Gains Independence
• Milestone Events from World History: Ghana Gains Independence from Great Britain