Zhang - Mississippi River Watershed Design Challenge

TOPIC PORTALS FROM SCIENCE IN CONTEXT

• Floods
• Erosion
• Wetlands

TOPIC PORTALS FROM ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE DATABASE

• Floods
• Erosion
• Wetlands

ARTICLES

BACKGROUND

• Mississippi River Basin
  • EPA: The Mississippi Atchafalaya River Basin
• Eutrophication
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Science:  Eutrophication
  • New York Times: Study Shows Rising Risk to Waterways from Fertilizer
  • Washington Post: A Major Punch in the Gut: Midwest Rains Projected to Create Gulf Dead Zone
• Erosion
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Science: Erosion
  • Environmental Encyclopedia: Erosion
• Flooding
  • Science World Magazine (2020):  Rising Waters: Despite Human Effort to Tame the Mighty Mississippi River, Record Floods Just Keep Coming
  • Minnesota Public Radio: Too Much Sediment in Upper Mississippi River
  • Washington Post (2018):  The Mississippi River Hasn't Flooded This Much in 500 Years (Cites a study!)
  • New York Times (2019):  Mississippi Flooding in Summer 2019
  • USGS:  Floods: Things to Know

SOLUTIONS

• Eutrophication
  • Newsweek:  Oxygen is Disappearing From the Worlds' Oceans at an Alarmingly Rapid Pace
  • Geographical (Magazine): Oysters Rescue: Millions of Oysters Have Been Rescued From the Struggling Shellfish Trade for Use in Restorative Aquaculture Programs
• Erosion
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Science: Beach Nourishment
  • Louisiana Coastal Wetlands Planning, Protection, and Restoration Act
  • ENR Magazine - Racing to Reconnect a River
• Flooding
  • ENR Magazine - Racing to Reconnect a River 
  • UXL Encyclopedia of Weather and Natural Disasters: Flood Prevention
  • Gale Environmental Encyclopedia: Water Diversion Projects
  • EPA: Using Green Infrastructure to Mitigate Flooding in La Crosse, WI
  • EPA: Manage Flood Risk

Dams, Levees, & Reservoirs

• Gale Encyclopedia of Science: Dams
• UXL Encyclopedia of Weather and Natural Disasters: Levee
• Gale Environmental Encyclopedia: Reservoir

Ecosystems Impacted by Flooding/Ecosystems that aid in Flood Prevention

• Gale Environmental Encyclopedia: Urban Runoff
• UXL Encyclopedia of Weather and Natural Disasters: Coastal Resilience
• Restoring Ecosystems May Be the Answer to Flood Prevention
• Environmental Encyclopedia: Wetlands
• Environmental Encyclopedia: Riparian Lands