Search the library catalog for:
- Tier 2: Books on a specific topic
- Tier 1: Primary source collections
For tier 1 primary source collections.
History Databases (Closed Web Sources)
This database contains:
- Tier 4: reference
- Tier 3: news, magazines, radio
- Tier 1: primary sources & academic journals.
Be intentional when selecting source type.
This database contains:
- Tier 4: reference
- Tier 3: news and magazines
- Tier 2: eBooks
- Tier 1: primary sources (some are within reference books and some are stand-alone) & academic journals
Be intentional when selecting source type.
Only use this database if your research question is asking about something related to pop culture. music? clothing? dance?
This contains:
- Tier 4: reference
- Tier 1: primary sources & images
Use these databases if your question pertains to the experiences of any of the groups listed below. These databases contains:
- Tier 4: reference
- Tier 1: primary
Includes: African American Experience, American Indian Experience, Asian American Experience, Latin American Experience, & Women's History in the U.S.
Academic Databases (Closed Web Sources)
This database contains tier 1 Peer-reviewed academic journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
This database is fantastic for gaining in depth background on your topic. It has extensive tier 4 encyclopedia entries that give you in-depth information about your topic. There are also sections that provide a list of tier 1 primary sources.
Current (tier 3) & Historical (tier 1) Periodical Databases (Closed Web Sources)
1851 - present; TimesMachine 1851-2002
Account Creation (Use OPRF email.)
magazine with daily coverage of politics, education, science/tech, & culture
Current U.S. Major Dailies
Today's paper available by 8AM every day
highly influential Black newspaper
Access to articles from 1905-1975
primary source materials covering a vast range of topics during the civil war
Chicago Tribune 1849-1994
Wall Street Journal 1889-2000
Washington Post 1877-2001
Recommended Open Web Sources
Chronicling America - Great for tier 1 Historic Newspapers from the Library of Congress
Digital Public Library of America - Great for tier 1 primary sources. For site-specific search add site:dp.la to your Google search.
Fordham Modern History Sourcebook - Great for tier 1 primary sources. Navigate by finding your time-period or topic on the left.
HathiTrust - Great for tier 1 primary sources. Navigate by keyword searching the digital collection. For site-specific search add site:hathitrust.org to your Google search.
Library of Congress - Great for tier 1 primary and tier 3/4 secondary sources. For site-specific search add site:loc.gov to your Google search.
National Archives - Great for tier 1 primary and some tier 3/4 secondary sources. For site-specific search add site:archives.gov to any regular Google search.
National Park Service - Great for tier 1 primary and tier 3/4 secondary sources. For site-specific search add site:nps.gov to any regular Google search.
Primary Source Timeline - Click your time period to explore tier 1 primary source documents.
Presidential Library Sites - Great for tier 1 primary and tier 3/4 secondary sources. For site-specific search add site:archives.gov along with a president's name to your Google search.
PBS - Great for tier 3/4 secondary sources. For site-specific search add site:pbs.org to any regular Google search.
Smithsonian Museum - Great for tier 1 primary and tier 3/4 secondary sources. For site-specific search add site:si.edu to your Google search.
Wikimedia Commons - Great for tier 1 primary sources like photos, documents, & political cartoons. For site-specific search add site:wikimedia.org to your Google search.
Wilson Center Digital Archive - Great for tier 1 primary sources and tier 3/4 secondary sources. For site-specific search add site:wilsoncenter.org to your Google search.
YouTube - Great for tier 1 primary sources like famous speeches and news reels/broadcasts. For site-specific search add site:youtube.com to your Google search.