Research Databases (Closed Web)
Available Popular Periodicals:
- Newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, USA Today, and more
- Magazines: American Scientist, National Geographic, Smithsonian, Discover, Popular Science, and more
- Public Radio
How to Navigate:
- Keyword search the database.
- Select the source type you would like to explore. Choose News, Magazines, or Audio. Do this before scrolling through any search results.
- Filter further by publication title, date, or subject if needed.
Available Popular Periodicals:
- News: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, USA Today, and more
- Magazines: Science News, New Scientist, TIME, Scientific American, and more
How to Navigate:
- Keyword search the database.
- At the top of your search results, click "source type," and select news and magazines, then click "apply."
- Filter further by publication title or date if needed.
Current Periodicals
Click the icon above and use your OPRF username and password (don't sign on with Google) to create your New York Times account.
Once your account is created, you have full access to the New York Times, including images and videos within articles, which the other research databases don't provide.
If you want to search The Atlantic Magazine for your science article, you have to use the login provided by clicking the red "Database Passwords" button. When searching here, you are only searching this one magazine.
This is a database that only contains the five largest U.S. newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, LA Times, and Chicago Tribune. The articles are current as of 8AM every day. All articles here are text only - no images or video available.
How to navigate:
- Keyword search the database.
- Filter by publication title or date if needed.