Research Databases (Closed Web)
This database contains:
- Tier 2: Books
- Tier 1: Academic Journal Articles
- Tier 1: Primary Sources
This database contains:
- Tier 4: Reference sources that are lengthy & In-depth. Primary source lists can be included in the article.
This database contains the following with a focus on US History:
- Tier 4: Reference & Biography
- Tier 3: News, Magazines, Audio
- Tier 1: Academic Journal Articles
- Tier 1: Primary Sources
This database contains:
- Tier 4: Reference
- Tier 1: Primary Sources
This database contains the following with a focus on African American history:
- Tier 4: Reference
- Tier 1: Primary Sources
Current & Historical Periodical Databases (Closed Web)
1851 - present; TimesMachine 1851-2002
Account Creation (Use OPRF email.)
highly influential Black newspaper
Access to articles from 1905-1975
primary source materials covering a vast range of topics during the civil war
Chicago Tribune 1849-1994
Wall Street Journal 1889-2000
Washington Post 1877-2001
Library Catalogs
. 
Find tier 2 & tier 1 books in OPRFHS Library
Recommended Websites (Open Web)
Black Past (blackpast.org) - Find tier 1 primary sources here along with other resources related to African American History.
Chronicling America (chroniclingamerica.loc.gov) - Great for tier 1 historic newspapers from the Library of Congress
Colored Conventions Project (coloredconventions.org) - Find tier 1 primary sources here along with other information on the convention movement.
Digital Public Library of America (dp.la) - Find tier 1 primary sources here.
Fordham African History Sourcebook (sourcebooks.fordham.edu/africa/africasbook.asp) - Great for tier 1 primary sources on African history.
Fordham Modern History Sourcebook (sourcebooks.fordham.edu/mod/modsbook.asp) - Great for tier 1 primary sources on modern US history. Navigate by finding your time-period or topic on the left.
HathiTrust (hathitrust.org) - Great for tier 1 primary sources. Navigate by keyword searching the digital collection. For site-specific search add site:hathitrust.org to your Google search.
Library of Congress (loc.gov) - Find tier 1 primary sources here. There are newspapers, photos, artwork, songs, etc from all eras of U.S. History.
National Archives (archives.gov) - Find tier 1 primary sources here. There are government documents, news reels, presidential library websites, etc.
National Park Service (nps.gov) - Great for tier 1 primary and tier 3/4 secondary sources on a broad range of US history topics. For site-specific search add site:nps.gov to any regular Google search.
PBS (pbs.org) - Great for tier 3/4 secondary sources. For site-specific search add site:pbs.org to any regular Google search.
Primary Source Timeline - Click your time period to explore tier 1 primary source documents.
Slave Voyages Databases (slavevoyages.org) - Find tier 1 primary sources here in multiple databases covering the Trans-Atlantic and Intra-American slave trade.
Smithsonian (si.edu) - Find tier 1 primary sources here.
StoryCorps Griot (storycorps.org) - Collection of tier 1 oral histories on the African American experience.
Wikimedia Commons (wikimedia.org) - Great for tier 1 primary sources like photos, documents, & political cartoons. For site-specific search add site:wikimedia.org to your Google search.
YouTube (youtube.com) - Great for tier 1 primary sources like famous speeches and news reels/broadcasts. For site-specific search add site:youtube.com to your Google search.
***Remember to try a site-specific search! For Example: Abraham Lincoln site:loc.gov***