Books
Find books in OPRFHS Library
Google Scholar
Government Websites
 |
search all Gale databases using PowerSearch; also use Topic Finder to narrow your search or develop a topic for your research papers. |
Academic
Full-text articles & abstracts from academic journals, magazines, newspapers & books
Peer-reviewed articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
In-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics - Includes literature reviews (historiography) and primary source lists
Peer-reviewed journal articles covering psychology
Current Periodicals
1851 - present; TimesMachine 1851-2002
Account Creation (Use OPRF email.)
Current U.S. Major Dailies
Today's paper available by 8AM every day
full digital access to the Chicago Tribune
magazine with daily coverage of politics, education, science/tech, & culture
History
Articles from books, primary sources, journals, news, etc. covering topics in U.S. history
Articles from books, primary sources, journals, news, etc. covering topics in world history
Issues, Controversies, & Debates
Current news on social, political, and environmental global events
Current news on controversial social subjects with a U.S. focus
Newspapers, magazines, graphs, charts, maps, primary sources, and more covering major scientific, economic, historical, and political issues around the world
Reports published 44 times per year on contemporary political and social issues in the U.S.
Science
Articles from books, magazine, journals, etc. about most every subject in science
Understand environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content.
in-depth explanations of important advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics, and technology (includes simplified published scholarly articles)
Open Access Sources
PubMed: PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.
The PubMed database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full-text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC). (Description from PubMed site)
Science Direct: Open access journal articles covering multiple subjects in science (account creation may be necessary)
PLOS ONE: Full-text open access articles covering multiple subject areas
MDPI: Includes approximately 420 peer-reviewed journals and nine conference journals
Frontiers: 221 OA Journals
**Preprints and unpublished works are NOT been peer reviewed.** (use with caution)
National Library of Medicine Clinical Trials Database: Collection of up-to-date clinical trials from around the world
Biorxiv: Unpublished preprints of articles in life sciences
Medrxiv: Unpublished preprints of articles in the medical, clinical, and health sciences
PsyArXiv: Unpublished preprints of articles in psychology
Pew Research Center: Nonpartisan organization that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Library of Congress: The largest library in the world with more than 162 million items, including books, sound recordings, motion pictures, photographs, maps, and manuscripts. The LOC serves as the research arm of Congress.
National Archives: The nation's record keeper- Contains documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States federal government
Science.gov: Authoritative federal science information
Smithsonian: Smithsonian Libraries offers educational resources and digital collections from 21 specialized research libraries. Features RESEARCH TOOLS, a portal that allows you to search their collection of journals and books.
Digital Public Library of America: Features photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and more, from America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.
GREAT FOR: Primary Sources from History