Biology - Fast Plant Lab

Welcome to your Fast Plant LibGuide.  See below for how to navigate this guide.

• Find reputable sources (Two options):
  1. Use the articles found for you in the box below titled "Recommended Articles."
  2. Search the Science databases in the box below titled "Recommended Databases" for articles on your own.
• Cite sources in APA style:
  1. Watch the video in the box on the left titled "Google Docs Citation Tool Tutorial."
  2. Open a Google Doc and use the citation tool to cite your reputable sources in APA style.
  3. Check your citations for accuracy by looking at the "APA References Basics" page on the left. (Optional)

Plant Background:

What are Wisconsin Fast plants and how were they developed?

• Fast Plant Origin

What do plants need to grow?

• Gale Science Online: Plant Growth and Development

What are cotyledons?

• Gale Biology: Plant Development

What is selective breeding and how were Fast Plants bred?

• Selective Breeding
• Fast Plant Breeding

Describe the transport system.

• Water Movement in Plants
• Gale Environmental Encyclopedia: Vascular Plant

How do plants reproduce?

• Plant Reproduction

What is the typical life cycle of a plant?

• DK Life Cycle of a Plant

How do plants grow and respond to their environment?

• Gale Biology: Tropisms and Nastic Movements

Independent Variable Background:

• Acid Rain
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Science: Acid Rain
  • Gale Science Online Collection: Acid Rain
  • UXL Encyclopedia: Acid Rain
• Salt Concentration
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Science: Salt
  • Environmental Encyclopedia: Salt (Road)
  • University of Connecticut: Too Much Salt...
• Fertilizer
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Science: Fertilizer
  • World of Chemistry: Fertilizers
  • Plant Sciences: Fertilizer