Skip to main content OPRFHS Library Home Page

2018 Abe Lincoln Award Nominees: Home

Abe Lincoln

The Abe Lincoln Teen Choice Book Award


The Abe Award is given each year to the author whose book receives the most votes from high school students in Illinois. It is awarded by the Illinois School Library Media Specialist Association (ISLMA).


Read a minimum of 4 nominated books prior to voting in March 2017.

Copies of each book are available in the Library at the Abe Lincoln Award display. Look for the books with the Abe Lincoln sticker on the spine.

Ballots for voting will be sent to all students via email in March.

2016 Abe Award Winner

The Winner of the 2017 Abe Award is:

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard


LibGuide Info

Adapted from Diana Nelson's LibGuide

Abe Lincoln Nominee List

All American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely

Denton Little's Death Date by Lance Rubin

Divided We Fall by Trent Reedy

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston

Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley

March: Book one by John Lewis

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

Notorious RBG by Irin Carmon & Shana Knizhnik

Out of Darkness by Ashley Hope Perez


Abe Lincoln Nominee List

The Rest of us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

Shadowshaper by Daniel Jose Older

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han

When We Collided by Emery Lord

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Zeroboxer by Fonda Lee