Skip to main content OPRFHS Library Home Page

Hennings - Cell Division and Growth (Planeria) Project: Slightly Acidic Water

Databases/Database Articles

Background on Planaria

Flatworms

Turbellaria

 

Background on Cell Division/Regeneration

Search Results for "Cell Division" - Reference Sources

 

Background on Manipulation

pH

pH

Acid and Base

Suggested Websites

Background on Planaria

Encyclopedia Britannica: Planarians

Exploratorium: Planaria: A Window on Regeneration

 

Background on Cell Division/Regeneration

Encyclopedia Britannica Regeneration

Exploratorium: Stem Cells

 

Keywords:  Cell Division, Stem Cells, Flatworms, Turbellaria, Planarians, Cell Regeneration

 

Background on Your Manipulation

Effects of Water Quality on Four Species of Planarians - Scroll down to "Effects of Ph."

Databases vs. Websites

Databases and eBooks: Authoritative Content from Respected Sources

  • Paid for by the library. (Think of them as premium cable channels.)
  • Cannot be easily searched in Google.
  • Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists, etc.
  • Authority of information is verified by editors and publishers.

Websites : Onus* Is on You to Verify the Content  

  • Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
  • Anyone can publish a website. The information included is often not verified by anyone.
  • Must examine with a critical eye. You need to spend time determining if content is correct.

What about this website? Or this one? This one really works!

Onus means responsibility. It's your responsibility to be sure the content is correct. It's a better use of your time to use the library databases, when possible.