Skip to main content OPRFHS Library Home Page

Kennedy/McGrail - Models of Physics: Tower Strength

google Scholar

If you find an article on Google Scholar, but cannot find the full-text for free.  Contact me, and I may be able to get the article through interlibrary loan.  Do not pay for an article!  Contact info below/right.

Databases/Database Articles

Off-Campus Database Passwords 


This is a general science database with sources from encyclopedias, journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.

Search Results for Structural Analysis (Engineering)

Search Results for Structural Engineering

Search Results for Skyscrapers

Topic Page for Civil Engineering

 


JSTOR has a large collection of scholarly journal articles.   (FYI, most recent articles in JSTOR are 5 years old.)

  • use advanced search.
  • vary your search terms.  Try civil engineeringstructural engineering.  Keep adding to and changing your search terms.
  • browse journals and books by subject that have to do with engineering or physics
  • Try looking up actual towers or skyscrapers.  

 


NY Times first-time user Account Creation (must use oprf email)

OPPL Database (requires library card)

Academic Search Premier

This database has an incredibly large collection of scholarly journal articles, and is constantly updated with the most recent publications.

Using Google

Google

Use it efficiently: add site:gov (site colon gov) to your keywords to limit searching to U.S. governmental websites.

Notice the difference: transgender rights vs.

                          transgender rights site:gov