Skip to main content OPRFHS Library Home Page

VenHorst - Engineering: Home

Open Access Journals (no passwords needed)


‚Äč

Listing of open access journals (Wikipedia)

Science Database

This Gale databases includes reference books and periodicals (academic journals, magazines, and newspapers) along with a section on experiments.  This is a good starting point to identify a topic and to gather keywords and names of investigators for a Google Scholar search. Be sure to look closely at the Academic Journals.

Other Helpful Databases

peer-reviewed articles from almost 2,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences; no current articles (5-year-old minimum)

NY Times first-time user Account Creation (must use oprf email)

Using Google Scholar

Gathering Your Keywords (Search Terms)

Keyword searching is how you typically search Google Scholar, Google, and library databases.  Think of important words or phrases (put quotation marks around the phrase) and type them in and see what happens.

If you're new to the subject, it may be helpful to pick up the terminology from secondary sources, such as a Wikipedia article or a general article from a library database. (A better keyword for "overweight" in a Google Scholar search might be "pediatric hyperalimentation".)

It's important for you to be systematic. Perhaps you want to start by keeping a written list of keywords. You'll notice that as you read articles or abstracts, you'll find additional keywords. Always look at the references at the end of a article for new keywords.

 

OPRF Database Passwords

OPPL Databases

*If you find an article on Google Scholar that you cannot find in the OPRF or OPPL databases, email me (Ms. Hooper), and I may be able to get it through inter-library loan.

WorldCat

WorldCat

Another way to access the full-text of an article is to search for it in WorldCat.  If you enter your location and search for the title of your article, a listing of local libraries with the article will come up.   Then you can contact those libraries for a scan of the article.  You may need your OPPL or RFPL library card.