Skip to main content OPRFHS Library Home Page

Pena - Native American Nations Research Project: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Native American Nations Exploration Project LibGuide. You will be finding information about your indiginous people primarily from the OPRFHS databases.

You may ask yourself: What is a database and why should I use them? What's the difference between a database and an open access website?

Databases and eBooks: Authoritative Content from Respected Sources

  • Paid for by the library. (Think of them as premium cable channels.)
  • Cannot be easily searched in Google.
  • Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists, etc.
  • Authority of information is verified by editors and publishers.

Websites : Onus* Is on You to Verify the Content  

  • Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
  • Anyone can publish a website. The information included is often not verified by anyone.
  • Must examine with a critical eye. You need to spend time determining if content is correct.

What about this website? Or this one? This one really works!

Onus means responsibility. It's your responsibility to be sure the content is correct. It's a better use of your time to use the library databases, when possible.

 

Best OPRFHS databases for your project oak30216

significant people, events, and topics in World History from antiquity to the present; includes reference articles, journal articles, primary source documents, and video and audio clips from old newsreels to current times.

significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present; includes reference articles, primary source documents, journal and magazine articles, and more

Consider:

"Thousands of years ago groups of people traveled to North and South America from far-away homes, and they stayed, becoming the first Americans. These migrations (movements of groups of people from one home to another) remain covered in mystery. How long ago did the first people come? Did they come by foot over a land bridge? Did they come by boat from the Pacific coast of Asia, or did they sail across the Atlantic? Were the early migrants from northern Asia, Southeast Asia, Australia, Japan, or Europe? Was there one large migration, or were there many migrations? The short answer to all of these questions is that no one knows. In some ways, scientists and historians seem to know less in the twenty-first century than they did at the end of the twentieth century. New evidence is emerging on a regular basis that disproves long-accepted views about the first immigrants to the Americas. Experts in the early twenty-first century are coming up with many intriguing new theories—educated guesses based on an abundance of new evidence and research. Their ideas present exciting possibilities about the history of the ancient Americas." -- Early Civilizations in the Americas Reference Library

Subject Guide