General Database
chick here for listing of all databases
This is the first place to go for Level I and Level II information. Print out an encyclopedia article and look for your search terms/keywords. Remember, you may not use this as a source in your paper or bibliography. These articles are for gaining background knowledge and for gathering search terms/keywords for your searches in scholarly databases. Also, look at the bibliographies at the end of the articles; listed authors are often scholars in the field and have published books and articles found in JSTOR and Project MUSE.
Slave Trade (Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture)
Slave Trades (New Encyclopedia of Africa)
American Crops, Africa (Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450)
Sugar and Labor (Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450)
Sugar Cultivation and Trade (Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450)
Brazil (Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery)
Brazil: Northeastern Brazil (Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery)
Capitalism and Slavery (Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery)
Williams Thesis (Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery)
Marxism: Historiography of Slavery (Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery)
Caribbean Region (Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery)
Islam (Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery)
Africa: Women as Slaves in Africa (Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery)
East Africa: Swahili Region (Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery)
Slave Trade: Western Africa (Encyclopedia of Africa: South of the Sahara)
Africa: End of Slavery (Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery)